Skip to content

Update and job opportunities with One Acre Fund!

March 21, 2016

Hey, Nick!

I thought I’d update you and your readers on my situation so that they always remember that their dreams of getting an international development job CAN come true!

After 20 years of being a Canadian banker and 10 years of dreaming of working overseas, I’m finally living my dream and it took a lot of your advice to get me there.

1) Focus on a skill that is needed to grow organizations.

For me it was finance, but experience and education in logistics, procurement, program design and human resources are all in high demand.

2) Get some volunteer experience.

For me it was a month long posting in India with Grameen Bank USA’s “Bankers Without Borders” program, but organizations such as AfID (Accounting for International Development) and Peace Corps prove that you can survive and thrive overseas.

3) Work your network.

Although I hunted through job boards galore, my chance finally came from a referral by a colleague of mine. Make sure people know you are looking and make sure to take the time to listen to everyone that has a story to tell.

My dream job came with an organization called One Acre Fund ( and now I’d love to pay it forward and help some of your readers get a shot at their dreams. We have almost 50 job openings available right now for postings in East Africa and we need early stage professionals in a whole range of skill sets. Maybe we can be your first step to an amazing new career!

Thanks again for all the time, effort and wisdom you put into this blog, Nick…awesome work!


6 Comments leave one →
  1. S.L. permalink
    March 21, 2016 7:56 pm

    Thanks so much, Randy and Nick! I applied for the Country Scout position! — Sandra

    • March 24, 2016 10:20 am

      Awesome, Sandra! New Country Scouts are bada$$ – they are Jill’s of all trades and are crucial pieces to our growth. Looking forward to seeing your cv!

  2. S.L. permalink
    March 21, 2016 7:57 pm

    (Looks like a fantastic organization, by the way)

  3. E I permalink
    April 8, 2016 10:27 am

    Good day,

    I am a newbie looking to transition into the non-profit/development sector specifically in energy efficiency/conservation/sustainability, as that is my field. It’s been so hard as I’ve got no non-profit/development experience (I had an internship in gender and environment in W/Africa after college).

    Are there development organizations in NYC, pertaining to the international energy/sustainability sector, I can volunteer in remotely (I’ve got a full-time career in my field in NYC) to gain experience? I’m building skills that will be necessary in this area, namely Project Management. Any advice would be well appreciated.

    Thank you.

    • April 8, 2016 2:16 pm

      Hi there –
      Thanks for writing – I’m afraid I don’t live in NY, and I really have very little insight into the specific organizations who are there. I think you’re going to want to begin to network in that area – I’m absolutely certain that there are meet up groups and professional associations there. Let us know what you find,
      Good luck,

  4. Hilary permalink
    July 12, 2016 7:14 pm

    Thank you very much for posting this, Nick and Randy! My comment comes a few months after this post, but I was looking at these numerous job postings you refer to here just the other day. It’s very encouraging and I have been interested in the One Acre Fund for several years, but chose to focus my energy on doing internships and volunteering before trying to market myself to potential employers. I’m now in the process of applying for jobs and excited (anxious too) to see what happens. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

