Skip to content

Where should I look for international development job postings?

February 25, 2016
If you find this site useful please consider buying my ebook – to be clear, the material in it is available on this site – but it’s a way to say thank you and help me offset the costs of running it.
Q. Hi Nick,
I am responding to your comment above stating that construction management is in high demand. I am a construction project manager with full cycle experience on multi million dollar projects. I would love to know where to find/look for such required positions. Would appreciate any feed back and assistance!
A. Hi Catherine,
For readers playing along at home, this is a question that relates to a post where someone was asking about international jobs as a carpenter. I mentioned that, while I don’t think there is much call for expatriate carpenters, I do think that construction management (and project management of all kinds) is in high demand.
So – the question is – where are these positions posted?
In general, I would check the job postings of specific agencies that you are interested in, and the major job aggregators like DevEx and LinkedIn. I would look at the major INGOs, but also the big contractors who tend to have bigger construction portfolios.
What I would mention is that if your experience is largely US or developing world, you will still need to deal with the overseas experience issue. I would definitely reach out to people who are in the kinds of jobs that you want to build your professional network and help make the transition.
Good luck, let us know how you do!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Olivia permalink
    May 3, 2016 3:44 pm

    Hi, I would like to become an aid worker in the short future. I know that it is hard to get your first job as one. But, I have a bachelor’s in civil engineering and have done humanitarian missions while in the Navy for about four years. Do you think this counts as experience or while help me get a job?

    • May 18, 2016 2:54 pm

      Hi Olivia,
      Thanks for the question – a bachelor’s in engineering might be helpful, but without several years of practice it’s not going to count for much. The Navy experience will, again, certainly be useful, but you will need to get experience living and working in the kinds of environments you want to work in to be taken seriously by recruiters.
      Networking with people who have the kinds of jobs you want will certainly help here – good luck!

Leave a Reply

