Skip to content

Crass consumerism!

November 24, 2015

So here’s my list of top five things to buy for the aid worker, Peace Corps volunteer, or global traveller in your life this holiday season. Buying through these links helps me pay the cost of maintaining this site, even if you end up buying something else! Thank you!

  1. A copy of my ebook “Getting your first job in relief and development” is a great present for anyone contemplating a career in this line of work!
  2. My number two choice is my favorite all purpose compact-water-proof-drop-proof camera, the Olympus TG-4. I’ve reviewed this before, so I won’t go into details, but suffice to say I don’t think this can be beat for a relatively flexible high quality camera that can take astounding abuse and still come up fighting!
  3. I’ve slept in some pretty scary beds in my day, and I really love the Cocoon Silk MummyLiner. It’s a silk sleeping bag liner that will keep you warm, cool, and clean whatever the state of the bed you’re in!
  4. A decent First Aid Kit. You’ll end up using it more than you expect, and it’s always good to be able to help out colleagues when they invariably don’t have what they need. You’ll want to add a bunch of things that don’t regularly come in the kits, but that’s for another post.
  5. A handful of small, cheap flashlights that take readily available AA batteries. I like these. They are cheap enough that you can give them away and not worry about loosing them. For a flashlight that you want to hang on to get an old-school incandescent MagLite Mini.
  6. A photography session at Perfect September Photography, in Portland Oregon!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

