Skip to content

Egyptian pharmacist?

January 20, 2015

Q. Hi, Nick,

I am Eman from Egypt, 30 years old. I am a pharmacist and have a masters degree in quality management. I am applying for a masters of public health scholarship this year, plz wish me luck.

This is the second year for me to work in a national humanitarian aid organization (Arab Medical Union) in a project funded by UNHCR of Egypt.

I worked in the Refugees’ health support program at AMU. I worked in the project for providing medical assistance for Syrian refugees of concern to the UN Refugees Agency.

This year we will make establishing and enacting a standardized 2ry, 3ry and emergency referral care services including for emergency obstetric and neonatal care for Syrian Refugees also.

My aim is to work in African developing countries at a non-governmental organization, national or international working in health systems development projects. As I believe in the right for every person in good health. Also I have a passion to work with marginalized groups including women and children.

Do you think that i may have a chance to work at international organization in other African countries rather than Egypt ? As a I am not a Doctor, I have difficulties in entering these carrier in Egypt. what is your advice for me?

A. Hi Eman – first of all, the situation for Egyptian humanitarian workers is a little out of my area of expertise, but I think my advice is pretty much the same as for anyone else. You are already working for an organization that is receiving grants from UNHCR, which is a huge networking opportunity – I hope you’re taking the change to build professional connections both within the field of aid organizations with offices in Egypt (including UNHCR), and though your other professional connections. If you don’t already have one I would recommend you get a LinkedIn account.

My understanding from your message is that you are working in Egypt, which is your home country – this is an obstacle, since you won’t be seen as having any field experience. The plus side is that pharmacy and medical administration are both really useful skills in demand in the aid world. The key is going to be building a network of professional contacts that enable you to get jobs in the kinds of places you’re looking for.

Good luck,


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

