Skip to content

Seeking jobs at the UN

September 9, 2014
tags: ,

I wanted to introduce you to a resource that I like about a topic that frustrates a lot of people – getting a job with the UN. Elisa dos Santos is a business economics major and presidential scholar at Hofstra University Honors College as well as an intern at the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean in Washington. Her article “Wanted: A Job Anywhere in the World With the UN” is posted on here.

The site has a few good articles on employment at the UN, a task that has been compared to “trying to find a secret passageway from a brick wall”…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Luann permalink
    October 21, 2015 10:12 pm

    Hello. I could really use some advice. How do I get a job working with refugees? I want to work with refugees in a refugee camp. I have 10 years of volunteer experience with the red cross and many other non profits but I still havent been able to get a regular job with a non profit. I never fit the criteria. If I have the education I don’t have the experience or vice versa. Right now I’m a teacher in Asia. I have no problems with different cultures. I have lived inthe usa, France, Kyrgyzstan, & currently Korea. I have tried contacting numerous organizations directly here and in the usa but they haven’t gotten back to me. I applied to so many ngo jobs in the usa with no response. I have a psychology BA. I’m willing to go back to school for ANYTHING to help me get into this field. Please help. How do I become an international aid worker? I’d really like to work with refugees. I’m willing to do anything to make myself marketable in this field.

    • October 26, 2015 11:24 am

      Hi Luann,
      Without a little more information it’s hard for me to know what you’re doing wrong. These kinds of questions are tough because it could be any number of things from your resume to your interview style. I do offer individual coaching on these issues because it’s usually something that takes a considerable amount of time to deal with.
      Good luck,

Leave a Reply

