Skip to content

What should I study in university?

April 6, 2014


I always get this question a lot, but currently I’m getting it about three times a week. No matter how many times I feel like I keep answering it, it comes back again and again. Unfortunately I think the problem is that I don’t have the answer people want to hear – but here we go again.

There’s a new page on the topic here, but the short story is ‘some professions (engineering, health, finance etc) require specific (usually graduate) qualifications to practice. If your chosen route does, then you need to get the related degree or qualification. If not, then I don’t think it much matters what you study.‘ Obviously, something that signals an interest in development issues might be better than something that doesn’t, but in reality field experience is much, much more important than degree in non-technical positions. Study what you like, but make sure you use your studies to get as much experience in the kinds of environments where you want to work as you can!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

